Racial Justice

Join other UUs, and others that share our values, in taking action.

Microsoft Word - UU Brand Identity Guidelines 9.16.14 - to send.

Current issues:

Iowa Justice Action Network News & Lobby Day

Iowa’s Day of Empathy is scheduled for Thursday, February 29th and we are preparing to launch statewide.  As a reminder, the Day of Empathy is a national movement alongside Dream.org and the country’s largest day of action for criminal justice reform.

Read More

Looking for Engagement with Iowa UUs–Volunteer Opportunities

We have spots on the board and on each of our task forces: Environmental Justice, LGBTQiA Justice and Racial Justice. Commitments vary–some as little as an hour or two every three months.

Read More

We are Unitarian Universalists!

We are Unitarian Universalists, people of many backgrounds who have different beliefs, but shared values. Together, we offer a guided path towards a better you and a better world. Get to know us in this short animated video.

Read More

A New Play: Squatters on Red Earth

Squatters on Red Earth, by Mary Swanders, is a drama about a peaceful encounter in the midst of the U.S. white settler land grab. Friday June 9 (8 PM at the Amana Performing Arts Center in Amana), and Saturday June 10 (2 PM and 7 PM at the Wieting Theatre in Toledo).

Read More

Transforming Policing In the 21st Century

Harvey Harrison of the Des Moines UU congregation helped found an organization called Just Voices which has worked to address racially biased policing in Des Moines.  This video will be available to view on Zoom for those registered for the 2023 GA.  The workshop should be available online sometime after June 1.  A meeting room…

Read More

Reducing Poverty through Sentencing Reform

Jared Trujillo, JD Thursday, April 27, 5 PM Pacific, 6 PM Mountain, 7 PM Central & 8 PM Eastern To view the recorded video, click here The relationship between incarceration and poverty is circular, cyclical, and symbiotic – poverty is a cause of incarceration, and incarceration causes poverty. Shortly after culture shifting civil rights victories…

Read More

Six Iowa UU Congregations Have Adopted the 8th Principle

Six of Iowa’s UU congregations have joined with more than 200 nationwide that have adopted an 8th Principle, committing to dismantling racism and other oppressions in ourselves and our institutions.

Read More

A Possibility: Evolving from Principles to Values

At this year’s UUA General Assembly delegates from your congregation and others across the country will vote on whether or not to adopt revisions to UUA Bylaws that emphasize love and justice, anti-racism and anti-oppression language, and explicit statements of our Values rather than our Principles.

Read More