News & Events

Earth Day Celebration

Armando, a Guatemalan environmentalist, shares his dream of reforestation when his seedlings planted by UU volunteers grow into a healthy trees and the beginnings of a forest. Check out the video!

Read More

Tissue Issue: Who gives a…

Who wouldn’t want to save the Boreal Forest? It is a Canadian wilderness sacred to indigenous people, where a unique ecosystem thrives and sequesters carbon. All of us can take action! Every day!

Read More

Reducing Poverty through Sentencing Reform

Jared Trujillo, JD Thursday, April 27, 5 PM Pacific, 6 PM Mountain, 7 PM Central & 8 PM Eastern To view the recorded video, click here The relationship between incarceration and poverty is circular, cyclical, and symbiotic – poverty is a cause of incarceration, and incarceration causes poverty. Shortly after culture shifting civil rights victories…

Read More

Read the IUUWAN April Newsletter

See what’s happening at several of Iowa’s UU congregations, including live music events, Earth Day and Earth Week events, narratives about growing food, reducing multigenerational poverty through sentencing reform and more.

Read More

Webinar by Jean Eells: Changing Narratives about Growing Food

The soil that grows food is in danger as widespread tillage practices cause a steady, invisible degradation of soil, harming microbes essential for growing plants. Renewal and resilience is possible, necessary, and urgently needed! On Thursday, April 13, learn about steps everyone can take to work the levers of change.

Read More

Register for One Iowa’s 2023 Legislative Session Recap

Iowa’s legislature proposed 31 anti-LGBTQ bills. Four were passed by the legislature and 27 were defeated. One Iowa will be conducting a legislative session recap webinar on May 11th at 6pm. Read more to register for this webinar.

Read More

Six Iowa UU Congregations Have Adopted the 8th Principle

Six of Iowa’s UU congregations have joined with more than 200 nationwide that have adopted an 8th Principle, committing to dismantling racism and other oppressions in ourselves and our institutions.

Read More

A Possibility: Evolving from Principles to Values

At this year’s UUA General Assembly delegates from your congregation and others across the country will vote on whether or not to adopt revisions to UUA Bylaws that emphasize love and justice, anti-racism and anti-oppression language, and explicit statements of our Values rather than our Principles.

Read More